Sign In

Language Arts

Language Arts Department

Highly trained teachers  |  Award-winning yearbook, forensics, and drama programs  |  College preparatory skills as part of the curriculum  |  Wide range and variety of offerings

​  

 

 Description

 

 

      
 

Dedicated to fostering excellence in reading, writing, thinking and speaking.

Student Experience

Our specific linguistic and literary goals are to read widely and critically; to think creatively and analytically; to write clearly and perceptively; to speak eloquently and thoughtfully; and to achieve competence in grammar and Standard English usage. Underlying the Department’s mission is the desire to instill a lifelong love of literature and the ability to express ideas clearly and effectively.

Faculty and Resource Highlights
- 14 teachers
- 3 nationally certified or recognized teachers
- 3 certified CU Succeed professors
- Received funding and technology from 5 grants in the last 6 years

  
     

 

 

 Good News

 

 

     
   

Scroll down for more

Drama, publication and competitive forensics programs have won numerous state and national awards.

Advanced and AP courses are open to all students.

Two courses qualify for CU Denver credit through CU Succeed.

Recent graduates are pursuing careers in education, journalism and film and theatrical arts.

   
     

 

 

 Teachers

 
Name  (click to go to teacher's Website) Telephone            E-mail
  Mystayn Barnes 720-561-4310 mystayn.barnes@bvsd.org  
Alison Boone ​720-561- aliosn.boone@bvsd.org
Joyce Beaumont ​720-561- joyce.beaumont@bvsd.org
Taryn Cawlfield 720-561-4248 taryn.cawlfield@bvsd.org
Jane Felknor 720-561-4227 jane.felknor@bvsd.org
720-561-5624 elaine.grace@bvsd.org
Vickie Howard, Forensics 720-561-4232 vickie.howard@bvsd.org
Bonnie Katzive, Newspaper and Yearbook
720-561-4312
Michael Kugler 720-561-4224 mike.kugler@bvsd.org
Gwendolyn Lukas-Doctor, Drama Dept. 720-561-4221 gwendolyn.lukas-doctor@bvsd.org
Kate Lunz 720-561-4225 kate.lunz@bvsd.org
Mary Prassa 720-561-4228 mary.prassa@bvsd.org

 

 

 Course List

 

 

 


Core Curriculum


Advanced Courses


Electives

 

Freshman Lang. Arts

Adv. Freshman L.A.

Beginning Journalism

World Lit. & Comp.

Adv. World Lit. & Comp.

Advanced Journalism

American Lit. & Comp.

 

Yearbook

 

 

Public Speaking

Alt. Language Arts

AP and CU Succeed

Intro. to Theater

Eng. as 2nd Lang.

AP Lang. & Comp.

Acting 1 and 2

 

AP Lit. & Comp.

Stagecraft

 

 

Creative Writing

 

 

Science Fiction

 

 

Mythology

 

 

Film and Video Production

 

 

Film Literature

 

 

Philosophy Through Literature and Film

 

 

Senior Literature, Comp., & Comm.

 

 

Reader’s Workshop

 

   Course Details

 

 

   
     "The universe is made of stories, not atoms.”

– Muriel Rukeyser