Sign In

Social Studies

The Social Sciences Department

AP classes offered at all grade levels 9-12 |  Updated and contemporized curriculum | New textbooks in core content areas for 2010-2011 | Standards-based grading

 

 Description

 
     
  

Explaining how the world we live in came to be and why it works the way it does.

Student Experience
The Social Studies Department welcomes students from diverse backgrounds and a variety of life experiences, challenging every individual to become more aware of the world around them.  Each student is held to a high standard and is expected to push the limits of their abilities.  Students have repeatedly praised Social Studies teachers, often labeling individual department members as “the best teacher I have ever had.”

Faculty and Resource Highlights
- 10 teachers
- 100% of faculty have, or are working toward graduate degrees
- Department’s Deann Bucher coordinated revision of BVSD curriculum
- Mock Trial, Model United Nations, Japanese Exchange Program, GSA, and trips to Europe
- Faculty includes several pop-culture trivia geniuses
!

  
     
 

 Good News

 
     
  

Scroll down for more

AP United States History pass rate of 85%, compared with a national average of 53%.

AP Human Geography qualifies for CU Denver credit through CU Succeed.

Students have repeatedly demonstrated high levels of achievement and growth on BVSD Social Studies common assessments.

  
     
 

 Teachers

 
         
  Name  (click to go to teacher's Website) Telephone E-mail  
  Justin Abbott 720-561-4279 justin.abbott@bvsd.org  
  Dan Borus 720-561-5658 daniel.borus@bvsd.org  
  Deann Bucher 720-561-6025 deann.bucher@bvsd.org  
  Andrew Buhse 720-561-4244 andrew.buhse@bvsd.org  
  Matt DiCarlo 720-561-4246 matt.dicarlo@bvsd.org  
  David Farrell 720-561-4247 david.farrell@bvsd.org  
Keith Mainland 720-561-4249 keith.mainland@bvsd.org
 

Kristin Kerr Gannon

720-561-4251

kristin.kerrgannon@bvsd.org  
James Kelpy ​720-561-4229 james.kelpy@bvsd.org
 
 

 Course List

 
     
  Core Curriculum Electives AP Courses
   United States Government Anthropology AP European History
  United States History Current World Affairs AP Government and Politics
  World Geography Diversity AP Human Geography
  World History Economics

AP United States History

 
    Psychology AP World History
    Sociology  
         

    Course Details
     
   "Every class we’ve taken in Social Studies has been awesome! We always learned a ton of stuff and had a great time while doing it.”

– AP European History Student 2010-2011