Sign In

Science

Science Department

Award-winning teachers  |  Robust curriculum  |  State-of-the-art equipment  |  Most CU Succeed (college credit) courses in the state

 

 Description

 
     
  

 A comprehensive college-preparatory program for students of all learning levels

Student Experience
Monarch is a place where award-winning, highly motivated science teachers love what they do and want to pass their love of science on to the students.  We offer a friendly, nurturing environment that encourages students to recognize their strengths and build on them for life-long learning.
 

Faculty and Resource Highlights
- 11 teachers
- 120 years of combined experience
- Department’s Kristin Donley 2011 Colorado Top Technology Teacher of the Year and the 2012 Colorado Teacher of the Year 
- 90% of faculty hold graduate degrees in their fields
- 4 certified CU Succeed professors
- One of the few labs in the world using 3-D projection technology

  
     
 

 Good News

 
       
   Scroll down for more

AP test pass rates far above national average.

3 courses qualify for CU Denver credit through CU Succeed.

Qualified students for International Science Fair with a 4th place finish in 2010.

Students competitive in Technology Student Association.

Recent graduates pursuing degrees at Amherst, CU, MIT, Stanford, and dozens of other colleges.

 
     
 

 Content Editor

 
 

 Teachers

 
         
Name  (click to go to teacher's Website) Telephone E-mail
  Laszlo Vass 720-561-4240 laszlo.vass@bvsd.org  
 

Kristin Donley

720-561-4205

kristin.donley@bvsd.org

 
 

Katharine Ellis

720-561-tba

katharine.ellis@bvsd.org
  Rob Linnenberger  720-561-4231 rob.linnenberger@bvsd.org  
  Kevin Lowe 720-561-4236 kevin.lowe@bvsd.org  
Kathy Packard 720-561-4329 kathleen.packard@bvsd.org
  Nafisa Reza 720-561-5659 nafisa.reza@bvsd.org  
  Charles Schoep 720-561-4237 charles.schoep@bvsd.org  
  Peter Shannon 720-561-4238 peter.shannon@bvsd.org  
  Dave Thomas, Department Chair 720-561-4239 dave.thomas@bvsd.org  
  Tony Tolbert 720-561-4233 tony.tolbert@bvsd.org  
  Reid Walker 720-561-4241 reid.walker@bvsd.org  
         


 

 

 Course List

 
         
   Regular Courses Advanced Courses AP and CU Succeed   
  Biology Advanced Anatomy & Physiology AP Biology  
  Earth and Space Science Advanced Biology AP Chemistry  
  Marine Biology Advanced Chemistry AP Physics  
  Physical Science Advanced Physical Science    
    Biotechnology    
    Science Research Seminar    
         

     Course Details

       
 

"My science experience at Monarch prepared me very well for college. So well, in fact, that I pursued a graduate degree and dedicated my first published research article to the teachers at this great school.”

– A.V.S., Class of 2003