Sign In

World Languages

World Languages Department

Creative and multi-cultural teachers | AP classes in French, German, and Spanish | Spanish Honor Society | Use of advanced technology | Clubs in the target languages | Travel opportunities

 

 Description

 

 


Educating 21st Century graduates who are multilingual and culturally aware

Student Experience
The Monarch World Language Department is filled with highly qualified and diverse teachers who are passionate about teaching language and culture.  Students are encouraged to speak the target languages both in and outside of the classroom.  Students also have the opportunity to showcase their language skills in both state and nationwide competitions.

Faculty and Resource Highlights
- 8 teachers
- 10 languages spoken
- 88% of teachers have a Master’s Degree
- Use of technology such as iPods and mp3 recording in classes
- World Language Day every spring

 

 

 Good News

 

Scroll down for more

Students have an AP test pass rate more than 10 points above the national average, and all languages, including ASL, prepare students for the opportunity to test out of language requirements in college.

A former student is working as an interpreter for a U.S.Senator.

French videos win multi-state competitions annually.

German students have won the National German Exam and CCFLT video awards.

Students are winners every year at the UNC World Language Day competitions.

Opportunity to participate in an exchange program German American Partnership Program(GAPP).

Opportunity to participate in the annual Immersion Weekend in EstesPark.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Teachers

 

Name (click to go to teacher's Website)

Telephone

E-mail
Melissa Duplechin 720-561-4218 melissa.duplechin@bvsd.org
Redouan Bouchta 720-561-4215 redouan.bouchta@bvsd.org
Alice Davidoff 720-561-4216 alice.davidoff@bvsd.org
Steven Dicesare e-mail only steven.dicesare@bvsd.org
Jenifer Farrell 720-561-4358 jenifer.farrell@bvsd.org
Marcela Rivera 720-561-4220 marcela.rivera@bvsd.org
Jane Rivette 720-561-4222 jane.rivette@bvsd.org
Emily Stanley 720-561-4242 emily.stanley@bvsd.org
 

 Course List

 
 

 

Courses

Advanced Courses

AP Courses

American Sign Language I, II, III

French IV

AP French V

French I, II, III

Spanish IV

AP Spanish V

German I, II, III

Spanish Conversation & Composition

AP German V

Spanish I, II, III

German IV

 

Arabic I

 

Course Details